Family Laws

Hindu Law
Hindu law in India is the set of personal laws that are applicable to Hindus. The term 'Hindu' has been defined broadly, and includes Buddhists, Jains, and Sikhs. It also applies, unless proved otherwise, to people domiciled in India who are not Muslim, Christian, Parsi, or Jewish by religion.
The Hindu Marriage Act, 1955 ("the HMA") was enacted to amend and codify the laws relating to marriage among Hindus. The HMA does not apply to the Scheduled Tribes that are included within the meaning of A.366 of the Constitution of India ("the Constitution"). Section 13 of the act lays down the provisions for the dissolution of marriage.
Hindu Adoption and Maintenance Act, 1956
The HAMA applies to Hindus, including Buddhists, Jains, and Sikhs. It amends and codifies the law relating to adoptions and maintenance. It also gives an overriding application to the provisions on the two subjects.
Muslim Law
The personal law of Muslims in India is based on the Sharia, which is only partially applied in India. Despite being largely uncodified, Mohammadan law or Muslim law has the same legal status as other codified statutes. The development of the law is largely on the basis of judicial precedent, which in recent times has been subject to review by the courts.
Christian Law
The Indian Christian Marriage Act, 1872 ("the CMA"), defines the term 'Christian' as a person professing the Christian religion. The term 'Indian Christian' includes Christian descendants of native Indians converted to Christianity, as well as ordinary converts.
278271 Times Visited